Bonus Points to Skype!

Those of you who are geeks like me know about sed. You know it can be used to search/replace text from the command line. Well several geeks like me like to use it when we make typos in chats and IMs. Like for example, I’ll be typing.

Helo

OOPS! I misspelled “Hello”. DOH! Normally I would just type the sed command as an indication of correcting my typo.

s/Helo/Hello/

And it would show up in my chat window as:

Helo
s/Helo/Hello/

So other geeks like me will know what I’m talking about and you non-geeks will be quite befuddled. Nevertheless it’s cool. But my shocking discovery came today when I was using Skype. I made a typo (as I am wont to do) and so I went to correct it…. But instead of showing my sed command, skype actually edited my typo! It interpreted the sed command!

Needless to say I was thoroughly impressed!

One thought on “Bonus Points to Skype!

  1. PS. I made this discovery using the Linux version of Skype. I don’t know about the Windows version. It may only work in Linux since I’m fairly certain that sed is non existent in Windows. Needless to say, HA-HA on you Windows users.

Leave a Reply

