Biblical Defense of Libertarianism

I keep wanting to defend my stance as a Libertarian from the Scriptures, but I just can’t seem to do it.

HA! Don’t get your hopes up. It has nothing whatsoever to do with it being indefensible. It is just a huge steak to eat and I keep trying to do it all in a single blog post. That’s foolish. I need to just use this blog to put my thoughts down as they come.

So, rather than trying to put together a well thought out, well researched, point by point thoroughly examined essay that would stand up to the strictest of logical and academic criticism (IE rather than trying to be a perfectionist), I’m just going to catalog my thoughts as I have them. I’m going to put them up here for you to digest.

I consider myself a rational person, which means I feel as though I have never adequately communicated unless I have clearly ordered my thoughts and laid them out in a structured progression that moves from point A to point B and leaves no holes or loose ends. I imagine that the best finished product I could produce would be a three-point syllogism with a QED at the end. But every time I start to write it turns into a big ramble. One day I may have such a finished product. But rather than waiting for this blog to become that finished product, I’m going to turn this blog into a work in progress on the subject.

That being said, no one post on this blog will contain all of my thoughts on the subject. Please read all of my posts and pick up on the lines of reasoning and arguments that I arrange. This blog is going to be the tool for me to take all of my rambling thoughts and organize them.

So. As an overview. I am a Libertarian. I am a Christian. But that’s not enough information. Labels are only useful as far as the clearly communicate the reality they intend to reflect. However, sometimes labels can be confusing due to the way they are used. I don’t want to take labels for the sake of taking a label, and I certainly don’t want to be constrained by them.

So the most accurate political label I can give myself is that I am a Decentralist Minarchist Constitutional Libertarian. Decentralist means that I favor local government over central government. Minarchist means that I am not an Anarchist. I reject the Anarchists’ assertion that to be truly Libertarian, you must be Anarchist. I do believe we need some government, but that it should be limited to a very small set of powers. I believe that the US Constitution, if faithfully interpreted and applied is sufficient to limit this government to the strength I would desire it to be. And I am a Libertarian because I believe in the philosophy of liberty, which is simply that freedom is a good in and of itself and because all men own themselves, they have a right to life, liberty and property (and/or the pursuit of happiness).

The most accurate religious label is that I am a Reformed Baptist Christian. I am a follower of Christ and hold to much of what is considered conservative theology.

So. How is it possible that a Christian can be a Libertarian? You’ll have to wait and see. I can’t clearly lay it all out here, for the reasons I mentioned above. One of the reasons why this is so hard to pin down is that the Bible is not a political text-book. Citizens being involved in government was not a reality at the time it was written, and the book’s own purpose was not to enact any kind of political or legal change. The biggest sticking point I tend to have with believers on Libertarianism is over the idea of legislating morality. Many believe that we should be engaged in a crusade, so to speak (unfortunate term it may seem, but perhaps not so unfortunate as I hope to lay out), to transform the culture around us into conformity to God’s law. I fundamentally do not see such a crusade as being Biblical. But I’m getting ahead of myself.

Please stand by as I post more on this subject.

2 thoughts on “Biblical Defense of Libertarianism

Leave a Reply

